Fitness, weight loss, midnight milkshakes

So I’ve been asked before about my post-baby fitness journey. I’ve always suffered from low self esteem, and always been concerned about my weight – I was never ‘overweight’ but I was never happy with where I was. There was always a few extra pounds I could have done without. I’m not quite where I was to be yet, but having gained what I gained and lost it again I’m very much happy with my progress. It hasn’t been easy, but you know what? It’s actually been pretty fun.

Here’s what happened.

After my first pregnancy, I gained 6 stone. I ate an absolutely mammoth amount of food in pregnancy – triple sandwiches were a snack, and midnight milkshakes became a big part of my life. After giving birth, and seeing my post baby body, was unhealthy and unhappy. I resolved to do something about it.

I started doing something called Jillian Michael’s 30 day Shred. It was great, although I absolutely hated it (and I do not advise doing star jumps 6 weeks after having a baby!!). I lost 2 stone and felt a LOT better. Then I had a health scare (pulmonary embolism), and then I fell pregnant again! Whoops!

Me, June 2014

Me, June 2014

After having my second baby I vowed to do something about it. I was now 5 stone over my pre-baby weight. That wasn’t as much of a gain as I had after my first – probably from running around after my eldest – but I still had work to do. Being the crazy person I am, I signed up for the Eden Project Half Marathon, held in October that year. I had five months to train, two young babies, was recovering from my PE and labour, and I had a lot of weight to go. Whoops!

So I ran. I started off running for just 1 minute. I’d run for a minute, walk for two, and carry on like that for half an hour. Eventually, I could run for 2 minutes non stop. Then three, then five, then ten. Two months into training and I was running non stop for half an hour at a time. I felt invincible! I made a training program, and a workout for the rest of my body. I did hour-long runs on Sundays, which then became two hour runs. I got lost a few times, and had to stop a couple of times, but I saw myself and my body changing. I liked that change.

I was eating healthy too – I had no choice. My body craved protein, so I ate chicken every day, and vegetables, and fruit. I drank water and pushed myself. I’d never run in my life, but I was suddenly getting muscles.

Long story short – I ran the half.

medal

It was an amazing experience, one that I can’t wait to do again. I was slow, but I wasn’t last. It hurt, but I didn’t stop. I am proud of myself, still.

loss

In November last year I reached my pre baby weight. I’m still working on toning up, since my Mum-Tum has a life of it’s own, but I reached the goal I set. And I got there 6 months after giving birth. Because I’m stubborn like that.

Stubborn and hungry.

IMG_4944

Me Now

Comments?